Project Automatic

I had some time off recently, and decided to scratch my itch to start making stuff. I’ve always enjoyed taking pictures, especially while travelling. I am currently living in the UK, and I want to make the most of it while I am here. Usually, I use my cell phone camera to take pictures, but I want to step up my game. I know basically nothing about photography, but I want to learn. The first step was to buy a camera. I don’t have a lot of money, but I managed to find a decent compact at John Lewis for about £300. It’s an RX-100 vI.

IMG_20170420_162708.jpg

It’s apparently quite good, and it lets you shoot in full manual mode which is what I’d like to learn. Of course, I have no idea what I am doing yet. I figured the first step was to just go out and take a bunch of pictures, so that’s what I did. These are shot in superior auto mode for the most part. The camera did all the work, I just pointed and shot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In these lighting conditions (full sunlight) it took fairly decent ones. I felt that some of them were a bit bright, or a bit dull (left lots of those out) but I take what I can get. I am such a noob that this is actually a bit of a challenge for me – to just find things to take pictures of and to get the framing right. Overall, I am happy with the results, but now I need to learn how to take control of this thing and shoot in manual mode. I’ve started to learn, but I’ll save the juicy details of my learning experience for the next post.

2 thoughts on “Project Automatic

  1. Best of luck. photography is a great hobby and it takes a lot of patience but it’s worth the effort as you enjoy it all the way. I am learning this art at a very very slow pace too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

